Close Nav


Nominations for the 2023 CIGRE Symposium Prize are now closed.


The Electric Energy Society of Australia developed this prize which recognises emerging engineers' passion for power engineering. This prize encourages young members to maintain long-term involvement with EESA as they develop their technical knowledge and become future leaders within our industry. The successful candidate will have the opportunity to attend the CIGRE Cairns International Symposium.


The applicant must:

  • Be an individual EESA member.
  • Be an Australian citizen or permanent resident.
  • Be aged 35 or younger on 1st September 2023.
  • Hold a degree in Electrical Engineering or a field related to power engineering.
  • Be currently employed in the power engineering industry.
  • Be nominated by an EESA corporate member or be self-nominated.


The application must:

  • Outline how your learnings at the CIGRE Symposium will translate into your work and the Power Industry (max. 700 words).
  • Demonstrate contribution to the Power Community e.g. EESA or Engineers Australia (max. 700 words).
  • Detail how this prize will develop your leadership and/or career aspirations (max. 700 words).
  • Include one signed reference letter from an employer or mentor in support of the nomination.
  • Include a current headshot and a short bio outlining your experience (to be published on the EESA website).


The winner will receive:

  • Paid travel, accommodation, and registration to attend the CIGRE Cairns International Symposium. The winner will be asked to submit a written report on their experience, to be published in the EESA bulletin.
  • The winner will be asked to publish a reflection on each day of the CIGRE Symposium on their LinkedIn account and to tag EESA in it.
  • A spotlight article on the EESA website and in the EESA bulletin.


Nominations open: NOW

Nominations close: 30 July 2023

Winner notified: 9  August 2023

Cigre International Symposium: 4 – 7 September 2023, Cairns, Australia


Please note that, if in the opinion of the judging panel, no suitable candidate is nominated in that year, the judging panel has the right to decline the making of an award in that year.

For more information about this award, please contact us.